• Need more information on these or other topics? Ask an information specialist at (312) 422-2050 or rc@aha.org

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 330 other followers

  • Share this blog

    Share |
  • Note:

    Information posted in this blog does not necessarily represent the views of the American Hospital Association
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Top Rated Posts

How Are Levels of Neonatal Care Defined?

The American Academy of Pediatrics has updated its policy statement that defines levels of neonatal care. It includes the capabilities and types of provider staff associated with these four levels:

  • Level 1 – Well newborn nursery
  • Level 2 – Special care nursery
  • Level 3 – Neonatal intensive care
  • Level 4 – Regional NICU

As part of its AHA Annual Survey of all US hospitals, AHA collects data on which hospitals reported offering neonatal intermediate care services [generally comparable to level 2] and neonatal intensive care [level 3] as well as the number of associated beds for each. Annual number of births at individual hospitals is also available. Custom lists or counts of hospitals with neonatal care services are available for purchase. For more information, contact AHA Data Services at ahadatainfo@aha.org or 1-866-375-3633.

Source: American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Fetus and Newborn. Policy statement: levels of neonatal care. Pediatrics, vol 130, no. 3, Sept. 2012. http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/130/3/587.full.pdf+html 

Posted by AHA Resource Center (312) 422-2050, rc@aha.org

%d bloggers like this: